Texas Organic Vegetable Gardening by J. Howard Garrett and C. Malcom Beck

Posted: 2012.06.27 in Books

I bought this book due to a sudden intense impulse to create a vegetable garden on my apartment patio. Although I’ve kept plants off and on in the past, I haven’t had a vegetable garden of my own since I was a little girl (and even that was a family garden) and thus I felt it would be a good idea to educate myself about the matter.

First, let me say that this book does the trick. It’s a handy reference guide with detailed information on 160 different vegetables, herbs and flowering edible plants. It lists growing regions of Texas, planting and frost dates, troubleshooting for each plant, info on beneficial bugs as well as pests, techniques for improving soil and so on. Thus, if you live in Texas and want an all-in-one veggie guide, this is a good book to have. The only thing I’d say is that it lacks real photos of the bugs mentioned, and the quality of the photos in print isn’t the best, but it has all the info you will need in either case.

Now, as to the source of the information, a large chunk is regurgitated from the extension service and so you can probably get most of this info yourself for free from them. However, in my opinion it takes a lot more time and effort to get the info yourself, print it and organize it than it takes to get a copy of this book to use. To me, the price is worth it in that case. There are tons of critical reviews on this book in a variety of locations, but speaking from my own personal viewpoint the book is good to have, succinct, and easy to navigate. It will remain in my book collection for some time and was a worthwhile purchase.

If you’re curious about what’s going on in my little garden, you can check out my personal life blog category.

Comments
  1. […] My copy of Texas Organic Vegetable Gardening came in. If you’re interested, you can read my review on my media blog, Information Saturation. […]

Leave a Reply

