Comics Miscellany – May #2

Posted: 2014.05.29 in Manga/Comics

In the last two weeks, I’ve read a bunch of comics mostly along a single vein. I did not read some of the things I’d had on the radar, mostly because I’ve been very busy. However, I did get to the following:

  • Conan #37 – 50 (end): I completed the rest of the plain-titled original. There are still several short arcs in this series, but rather than being numbered under the main moniker they have singular names. I’ll get to those eventually, but I’m ready to move on from the barbarian. As before the series is close to Howard’s original stories even though there are a lot of original characters for the comic. I might critique it and say that I wish there was more character development of someone other than Conan himself, but honestly there wasn’t much supporting development in the original stories either. Still, Nestor the Gunderman was given decent treatment and a couple of other characters were also memorable in a series which from the start has always been focused on the hero.
  • Superman Unchained #1-6 (end): I read this because I wanted more Superman stories after the glut of new stuff in my last post. This wasn’t a bad run and I did read the entire arc without growing bored, but I wasn’t wowed by it either. I’ve received recommends for other classic Superman arcs which I will try in the future, but it’s not high on my roster at present as I believe I’ve had enough of this Man of Steel and have shifted to a different theme.
  • Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #2: This was also okay, but like Superman Unchained I find that it was largely forgettable, much to my chagrin. Although I was excited to see Iron Fist back in a solo book again, this run has yet to really seize my attention. I’m not sure whether I will pick up the next issue or not.

I’d intended to finish up the last two trades of American Virgin and read the third Sin City trade, but didn’t have enough time all in one sitting, which is how I prefer to read graphic novels. Those are still on my roster along with Nightwing #30, which I’d preordered as Tom King is one of the writers and is taking over the story. It ushers in a new arc. Tom is/was a podcaster on No Apologies, which is something that I subscribe and listen to. I also happen to like Nightwing as a character but have not been excited about any of the New 52 issues that I’ve read thus far. I’m interested in seeing where Tom goes with it. However, the Forever Evil arc ushers it in and therefore prior to reading Nightwing I want to pick up Forever Evil. Additionally, of the late I have taken to watching Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles while I do yoga or strength training, paint/draw, etc. As a result I have the urge to pick up the Terminator digital comics bundle that I purchased from Dark Horse awhile back. (I will also post about SCC later after I finish season two.)

Leave a Reply

